The Knights Templar’s History And Symbols

During the Crusades, biggest series of religious wars, the Knights Templar had many symbols that represented them. Since it all was nine centuries ago, it is hard to find relics, but we still have the knowledge about those symbols and what they meant back then. We made a list of the most significant ones, so let us tell you more about it.

Img source:

Knight Templar Seal

In the period from 1167 to 1298, Grand Masters commonly used an image of two knights upon a horse as one of their seals. There is no true answer about what it represents, but people came up with interesting theories. Some of them believe it represents a „buddy system“, for the knights that were operating in pairs. Others connect the symbol with duality and balance, since knights had dual function as both monks and warriors.

Img source:

Red Cross

A cross is expected to be one of the symbols of a Christian warrior monks. The red cross represented martyrdom and the sacrifice of Christ. The symbol was approved as an ornament in 1147 by Pope Eugenius III, and it was emblazoned upon the mantles.

Img source:

The Lamb Of God (Agnus Dei)

A lamb with a halo that is holding a cross or a flag with its cocked foreleg is one of the symbol that is known as The Lamb of God or Agnus Dei. „Behold the Lamb of God, which taketh away the sin of the world“, were the words of John the Babtist while baptizing Jesus, so this symbol represents martyred Christ.

Img source:


The war flag of the Knights Templar which was composed of a black section above a white one, was named the Beauceant. Theory about its meaning was that the black represents the sins of the world, while the white represents the purity. The flag was powerful. The knights were not allowed to stop fighting while it was flying.

Img source:

The Lion

The lion symbolizes courage, justice and power. Also, the Lion of Judah was one of the references about Christ, and the lion was the sigil of the Israelite tribe of Judah.

Img source:

Calvary Cross

A Latin cross standing on a base of three steps is also known as the Calvary Cross. Golgotha, the hill where Christ was crucified, has its Latin word, which is Calvary. So there is that reference. The three steps symbolize virtues of Faith, Hope and Love.